Info
Keepit is the strongest all-round SaaS backup tool, Veeam Data Cloud the best fit if you want a published Microsoft 365 price, and Afi the cheapest self-serve option for a small tenant. Rewind covers developer and e-commerce apps, Druva bundles identity and AI workloads, and OpenText CloudAlly and Spanning sell by quote. All seven were scored on pricing transparency, app coverage, immutability, and MCP and API maturity.
Keepit is the best SaaS backup software for most organizations in 2026. It protects 18 apps from one platform, keeps backups in vendor-independent data centers, charges no egress fees and offers 5 to 10 years of recovery. The catch is price: Keepit publishes none. If a number on a web page matters more, Veeam Data Cloud lists $2.63 to $7.00 per user per month for Microsoft 365.
SaaS backup software copies data out of the cloud apps you rent and holds it somewhere the app vendor cannot change. It matters because your Microsoft 365, Google Workspace or Salesforce tenant is not a backup. Salesforce, for one, keeps deleted records in the Recycle Bin for 15 days, per Veeam. This guide ranks seven tools by what they actually publish, and where a vendor sells by quote we say so. Every fact comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on October 25, 2026. For server and file backup, see our guide to backup and disaster recovery software.
Compare SaaS backup and recovery solutions by application coverage and the restore you would actually need: one deleted item, an account or a whole tenant. For Microsoft 365 backup, check which workloads are included and how retention, storage and recovery are charged. A low seat price is useful only if the required data can be restored.
Why You Need SaaS Backup Software
- Recovery beyond the recycle bin. Native retention is short, and restore tools are built for a single deleted item, not a tenant-wide incident.
- Protection from ransomware and rogue admins. Immutable or air-gapped copies mean an attacker with admin rights cannot erase the backup along with the data.
- Granular restore. Restoring one mailbox, repository or Salesforce record beats rolling back an entire workspace.
- Compliance evidence. Retention rules, audit logs and certifications such as ISO 27001 and SOC 2 give auditors something to read.
- Departing-user data. Archiving a leaver's mailbox and drive, as Afi and CloudAlly do, avoids paying for a license you no longer use.
How We Evaluated
Each product was scored on pricing transparency, supported apps, immutability and retention, MCP and API maturity, and how well it scales across users. Facts come from each vendor's own pricing pages, product pages and documentation, and where a price sits behind a form we say so rather than guess. Aggregator price listings were left out because they disagree with vendor pages. We did not run the products hands-on. The full approach is on our methodology page.
1. Keepit
Keepit is a SaaS-only backup platform from the Danish company Keepit A/S. It stores backups in its own data centers, separate from the app vendors, and exposes every feature through an API.
Pricing: Custom-quoted, per SaaS app. Core Continuity includes 5-year recovery, unlimited hot storage, SSO and MFA, with email support in business hours. Business Resilience adds 10-year recovery, Microsoft 365 multi-geo and 24/7 support, and Enterprise Resilience adds a dedicated manager. Unlimited retention is an add-on. No free trial is stated.
Top Features
- Backup across 18 SaaS apps
- Immutable, blockchain-verified storage
- In-backup search, preview and mass restore
- Data export and PST download
- Anomaly detection dashboard
- SIEM integration and full API support
Pros
- Widest independent app list in this guide
- Unlimited hot storage with no egress fees
- Four copies across two data centers in your region
Cons
- No published price on any tier
- Core tier has self-guided onboarding and business-hours email support only
AI/MCP Integration: Official. Keepit's MCP integration toolbox is open source, runs inside your network and is read-only in version 1. Access uses tokens, and interactions are written to the audit trail. It works with Claude Desktop and other clients; Keepit calls it a preview.
API Integration: Yes. Keepit describes an API-only architecture where every feature is an endpoint. A specific API reference page was not confirmed.
Cloud Based: Yes. SaaS only; the MCP toolbox is the only component you run yourself.
Platforms: Microsoft 365, Entra ID, Power Platform, Dynamics 365, Azure DevOps, Salesforce, Google Workspace, Zendesk, Confluence, Jira, Okta, Docusign, BambooHR, Miro, GitHub, monday.com and more.
Best For: Mid-size and enterprise teams protecting many different SaaS apps under one contract.
Our take: Choose Keepit when coverage and retention matter more than a published price. It is ISO/IEC 27001 certified, and its SOC 2 Type II report is available on request.
Editor score: 4.5/5. The strongest coverage and storage story; hidden pricing is the main thing holding it back.
2. Veeam Data Cloud
Veeam Data Cloud is Veeam's managed SaaS service for Microsoft 365, Entra ID and Salesforce. It is the only product here that puts a price table in front of you.
Pricing: Microsoft 365, per user per month billed annually: Foundation $2.63, Advanced $3.33, Premium $7.00 (adds Microsoft 365 disaster recovery). The Foundation and Advanced figures are volume prices for 251 or more users, so smaller tenants pay more, and the small-tenant price is not published. Entra ID is $1.08 on its own or $0.70 when bundled in Advanced. Salesforce is licensed per active user with no published price. A free trial is available.
Top Features
- Backup and restore at 3 to 5 TB per hour
- Granular restore of mail, sites and Entra ID data
- Bulk restore for ransomware recovery
- Search and eDiscovery
- 17 Azure regions with EU Data Boundary options
- Web console with MFA and role-based access
Pros
- Published per-user prices for Microsoft 365 and Entra ID
- Unlimited storage under a fair use policy and 7-year default retention
- Service-level immutability at no extra cost
Cons
- Headline prices only apply at 251 or more users
- No documented public API for Data Cloud
AI/MCP Integration: No official Veeam MCP server was found. A community server for the self-hosted Veeam Backup for Microsoft 365 exists, and its listing says it is not affiliated with or supported by Veeam.
API Integration: Not documented for Veeam Data Cloud as of October 2026. The self-hosted product has a REST API, but we did not verify its documentation.
Cloud Based: Yes. Veeam Data Cloud is Veeam-managed SaaS; self-hosted Veeam Backup for Microsoft 365 is also available.
Platforms: Microsoft 365 (Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business, Teams), Entra ID, Salesforce and Azure.
Best For: Organizations on Microsoft 365 that want a price before they call a salesperson.
Our take: Choose Veeam when you have 250 or more users or want a vendor you already know. Backups use locally redundant storage in one data center unless you buy Premium, and Veeam's Trust Center lists certifications company-wide rather than for Data Cloud, so check scope.
Editor score: 4.4/5. Excellent price transparency; missing MCP and API documentation cost it.
3. Afi
Afi sells SaaS backup for Google Workspace, Microsoft 365 and Salesforce at a per-user price that is low for the category. It also covers Azure and AWS workloads on a separate platform plan.
Pricing: SaaS Backup lists about $3 per user per month with a minimum of 5 users, for Google Workspace and Microsoft 365. Its yearly figure is ambiguous across the page, so we do not quote one. Salesforce and the Data Platform edition are quote-only. A free trial is offered, discounts start at 500 users, and unused prepaid months are refunded pro rata.
Top Features
- Automated backups up to 3 times daily
- AI engine that flags harmful changes
- User self-service recovery portal
- Role-based access and custom admin roles
- Full-text search that keeps sharing permissions
- Salesforce sandbox recovery
Pros
- Low published entry price with a trial
- Archived users are kept indefinitely with no license
- Cancel anytime with a pro-rata refund
Cons
- Salesforce backup is quote-only
- No immutable or WORM backup claim was found
AI/MCP Integration: No official server. A community MCP server for Afi exists, and it states it is not affiliated with Afi.
API Integration: Yes. A public API with app-based keys manages accounts, backup status, licensing and archiving. It cannot read backup data.
Cloud Based: Yes. SaaS only, with no on-premises components.
Platforms: Google Workspace, Microsoft 365 (Exchange, OneDrive, SharePoint, Teams, Entra ID, Intune, Power Platform), Salesforce, and Azure and AWS workloads.
Best For: Small and mid-size businesses on Google Workspace or Microsoft 365 that want a low per-user price.
Our take: Choose Afi when budget is the constraint. Data sits in Google Cloud and AWS in a region you choose, and its compliance page says it is subject to a SOC 2 Type II audit.
Editor score: 4.3/5. Low published pricing and a documented API; no immutability claim and no official MCP keep it from the top two.
4. Rewind
Rewind backs up the apps other tools skip: Jira, Confluence, GitHub, Shopify, QuickBooks Online and more. H.I.G. Growth announced a strategic investment in Rewind on July 29, 2026.
Pricing: Per user per month, based on the connected org's user count. Standard starts at $4.00 and Advanced at $5.20, monthly or annual, with a free trial. Shopify differs: Backup and Restore starts at $19 per month by order volume, and the Protection Suite is $99 per month. QuickBooks Online is priced per company file with no published figure. Per-platform tiers sit behind a calculator, so only "from" prices are public.
Top Features
- Automated daily backups of data and metadata
- Item-level restore
- Whole-account point-in-time rollback
- Version comparison before restoring
- Restore into another instance on higher plans
- Exportable 365-day audit log, SSO and RBAC
Pros
- Covers 13 or more apps outside Microsoft and Google
- Unlimited backup storage on both plans
- SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 and ISO 27001:2022
Cons
- Cost scales with headcount on Jira, Confluence and GitHub
- Standard keeps backups for 1 year; configurable retention needs Advanced
AI/MCP Integration: Official, in early access. Rewind's MCP server needs enrollment in its Labs program and an admin-created API key. Tools cover accounts, backup history, audit logs and triggering a backup; restores are not available through MCP.
API Integration: Yes. REST API with documentation at docs.developer.rewind.com and key-based authentication.
Cloud Based: Yes. SaaS only; bring-your-own-storage sync is an Advanced option.
Platforms: Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket, GitHub, Azure DevOps, Trello, monday.com, QuickBooks Online, Miro, Shopify, BigCommerce, Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Okta and Entra ID.
Best For: Engineering, e-commerce and finance teams whose critical data lives outside the big two suites.
Our take: Choose Rewind when your risk is a deleted Jira project or a broken Shopify catalog. It does not list Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace mail, so it pairs with a tool above rather than replacing one.
Editor score: 4.2/5. Unique coverage, public from-prices and an official MCP; calculator-gated prices and Advanced-only governance trim the score.
5. Druva
Druva is a fully SaaS data protection platform that treats identity and AI workloads as first-class backup targets alongside Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace.
Pricing: Custom-quoted. Druva publishes no prices, only three packagings: individual workloads, a SaaS Universal License (a per-user license with pooled storage) and an Essentials Pack for small and mid-size buyers. A free trial is offered, and one Druva page states 30 days.
Top Features
- Granular recovery with automatic scaling
- Protection from deletion and corruption
- Anomaly detection with curated recovery
- Federated search, eDiscovery and legal holds
- SIEM and SOAR integrations
- DruAI agentic workflows
Pros
- One per-user license across several suites and identity services
- Backs up Microsoft 365 Copilot and Claude workloads
- Listed in 20 AWS regions including GovCloud
Cons
- No published USD price
- Retention periods and minimums are not public
AI/MCP Integration: Official. Druva documents an MCP server with OAuth 2.1, role-based permissions and blocked destructive deletes. Whether it is generally available or in preview is not stated.
API Integration: Yes. A developer portal is linked from Druva's site; we did not confirm its contents.
Cloud Based: Yes. 100% SaaS with no hardware, though it also backs up on-premises data center workloads.
Platforms: Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Power Platform, Salesforce, Dynamics 365, Okta, Entra ID, Active Directory and endpoints.
Best For: Larger organizations that want SaaS, identity and endpoint protection under one vendor.
Our take: Choose Druva when identity backup (Entra ID, Active Directory, Okta) matters as much as mailboxes. Its platform page lists many compliance logos without scope, so request the current reports.
Editor score: 4.1/5. Broad scope and an official MCP; opaque pricing and undisclosed retention hold it back.
6. OpenText CloudAlly
CloudAlly, now sold as OpenText Cloudally Backup, covers five SaaS platforms. The old cloudally.com address redirects to OpenText.
Pricing: Quote-based. The old per-mailbox table is gone. Plans are priced by user or by data amount depending on the app, billed monthly or annually, with no minimums stated for Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace plans. A free trial is offered after a form and a call; its length is not stated. 24/7 support is included.
Top Features
- Backups three times daily or on demand
- One-click point-in-time restore
- Full-text granular search
- Export to Zip, PST or EML
- Auto-archive of inactive accounts
- Salesforce anomaly detection and sandbox seeding
Pros
- Immutable backups on AWS S3 with unlimited retention and no pruning
- Bring your own Azure, Google Cloud or AWS storage
- Covers Box and Dropbox as well as the big suites
Cons
- No published price
- No MCP server and no public API documentation found
AI/MCP Integration: None found as of October 2026.
API Integration: The vendor describes an accessible API, but no public documentation URL was found.
Cloud Based: Yes. Cloud-to-cloud only, with your own storage as an option.
Platforms: Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Salesforce, Box and Dropbox.
Best For: Teams that want immutable, unlimited-retention backup and the option to hold the data in their own cloud account.
Our take: Choose OpenText CloudAlly when storage control matters. It is ISO 27001-certified and says it is aligned with HIPAA and GDPR; we found no SOC 2 statement.
Editor score: 3.9/5. Strong retention and storage choices; the missing price, MCP and API documentation lower it.
7. Spanning
Spanning backs up Microsoft 365, Google Workspace and Salesforce and is part of Kaseya. It is the narrowest tool here, and the least transparent.
Pricing: Custom-quoted. Its pricing page returns an error and the "Request a Quote" form shows no figures. Spanning claims prices 30% lower than competitors, which is unverified. A free trial link exists on the Microsoft 365 page, with no length stated.
Top Features
- Daily automated incremental backup
- Unlimited on-demand backups and versions
- Granular search-based restore
- Point-in-time restore from any backup
- End-user self-service restore
- Cross-org Salesforce restore and sandbox seeding
Pros
- Unlimited retention is stated
- Simple three-suite focus
- 24/7 support
Cons
- No published price
- No claim that backup data is immutable
AI/MCP Integration: No official server found. A community listing exists, and we did not verify it.
API Integration: Partial. Kaseya's help center describes a REST API for the Google Workspace product, covering license management and export of backed-up user data. No full reference was found.
Cloud Based: Yes. SaaS only.
Platforms: Microsoft 365, Google Workspace and Salesforce, stored in AWS regions across the US, Canada, EU, UK and Asia-Pacific.
Best For: Managed service providers and small teams on Kaseya who only need the three big suites.
Our take: Choose Spanning if you already buy from Kaseya. Its security page lists HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II, alongside Privacy Shield items that look stale.
Editor score: 3.8/5. Reliable scope and unlimited retention; no published price and no immutability claim leave it last.
Comparison Table
| Tool | Best For | Starting Price | Standout Feature | AI-MCP Support | API Integration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keepit | Broad SaaS coverage | Custom-quoted | 18 apps, no egress fees | Official, read-only | API-first platform |
| Veeam Data Cloud | Published pricing | $2.63/user/mo (251+ users) | Microsoft 365 plus Entra ID | None official | Not documented |
| Afi | Small business budgets | About $3/user/mo | Archived users free | None official | Public API |
| Rewind | Dev and e-commerce apps | From $4.00/user/mo | Item-level and account restore | Official, early access | REST API |
| Druva | Identity and AI backup | Custom-quoted | One per-user license | Official | Developer portal |
| OpenText CloudAlly | Own-cloud storage | Quote-based | Immutable, unlimited retention | None found | Not public |
| Spanning | Kaseya users | Custom-quoted | Unlimited on-demand backups | None official | Google Workspace API |
How to Choose the Best SaaS Backup Solutions
- List the apps first. Rewind covers Jira, GitHub and Shopify, while Keepit and Druva cover the widest mix of suites and identity.
- Count your users. Veeam's lowest prices need 251 or more, and Afi has a 5-user minimum.
- Decide on immutability. Keepit, Veeam and OpenText CloudAlly document it; Afi, Rewind and Spanning do not.
- Check retention terms. Rewind Standard keeps 1 year, Keepit's Core tier 5 years, and Veeam defaults to 7.
- Ask for the tenant-restore path. Sandbox, cross-org and restore-to-another-instance options differ by vendor.
- Confirm MCP and API access in writing. Keepit's MCP is a local read-only toolbox, and Rewind's is early access without restores.
- Start with the trials. Afi, Veeam, Rewind, Druva and OpenText CloudAlly offer them.
What This Actually Costs
For a 300-user Microsoft 365 tenant billed annually, Veeam comes to $9,468 a year on Foundation ($2.63 per user per month), $11,988 on Advanced ($3.33) and $25,200 on Premium ($7.00). Afi at about $3 per user per month is $10,800, though its yearly rate is ambiguous. For a 10-user Google Workspace team, Afi is roughly $360 a year, and Veeam's price for a tenant that small is not published. Keepit, Druva, Spanning and OpenText CloudAlly need a quote, so budget for a sales call and compare on retention and restore rights, not only price.
Final Thoughts
Keepit is the default pick if you protect several SaaS apps and want long retention and no egress charges. Take Veeam Data Cloud if you run Microsoft 365 at scale and want a price you can plan around, and Afi if you are a small team watching every dollar. Rewind is the answer for Jira, GitHub and Shopify, Druva suits organizations that need identity and endpoints in one contract, and OpenText CloudAlly suits teams that want their own storage. Spanning is a fair choice if you already buy from Kaseya. Whatever you pick, confirm the retention length, immutability and a named restore path before you sign. Related reading: data loss prevention software, SaaS security posture management and email security software.

